Eurograd message

Message posted on 17/11/2022

Rethinking Frameworks for the History of Russian Science, Technology, and Medicine

Roundtable discussion, “Rethinking Theoretical and Methodological Frameworks for the History of Russian & European Science, Technology & Medicine,”

CHORUS: Colloquium for the History of Russian and Soviet Science cordially invites you to the roundtable discussion, “Rethinking Theoretical and Methodological Frameworks for the History of Russian & European Science, Technology & Medicine,” featuring three panelists:

James T. Andrews (Iowa State University)

William Nickell (University of Chicago)

Alessandro Mongili (University of Padua)

Moderator: Slava Gerovitch (MIT)

Participant-presenters of this roundtable will reflect on the role that theoretical frameworks play in our analysis of case studies in the history of Russian and European science. Increasingly, scholars in STS have applied inter-disciplinary methodologies to their research to better integrate the history of technology, science, and medicine into both broader historical narratives, as well as complex current schools of analytical methods. Each roundtable participant, a senior historian/socio-cultural theorist in the field, will reflect on their own past methodologies as well as how theory has been serving as frameworks for their current work. They will also attempt to briefly comment on how the current situation in Eastern Europe/Russia might imminently affect not only their access to primary sources, but potentially their methodological frameworks as well. Each participant will speak for about 12-15 minutes, then the moderator will help guide and channel these overviews and meditations into a general discussion about the role of theory in the history of science.

The meeting will be held on Thursday, December 1, at 16:00 (CET) /17:00 (Kyiv) / 18:00 (Moscow) / 10 аm (New York) / 7 am (Los Angeles).

Join Zoom Meeting

https://mit.zoom.us/j/93665011585?pwd=eExmZEFsamtGRm85WWVVRC9mMmJvQT09

Please feel free to share this announcement with your colleagues.


EASST's Eurograd mailing list Eurograd (at) lists.easst.net Unsubscribe or edit subscription options: http://lists.easst.net/listinfo.cgi/eurograd-easst.net

Meet us via https://twitter.com/STSeasst

Report abuses of this list to Eurograd-owner@lists.easst.net

view as plain text
Follow by Email