Eurograd message

Message posted on 17/11/2022

Rethinking Frameworks for the History of Russian Science, Technology, and Medicine

                Roundtable discussion, “Rethinking Theoretical and Methodological
Frameworks for the History of Russian & European Science, Technology &
Medicine,”

CHORUS: Colloquium for the History of Russian and Soviet Science cordially
invites you to the roundtable discussion, “Rethinking Theoretical and
Methodological Frameworks for the History of Russian & European Science,
Technology & Medicine,” featuring three panelists:

*James T. Andrews* (Iowa State University)

*William Nickell* (University of Chicago)

*Alessandro Mongili* (University of Padua)

Moderator: *Slava Gerovitch* (MIT)

Participant-presenters of this roundtable will reflect on the role that
theoretical frameworks play in our analysis of case studies in the history
of Russian and European science. Increasingly, scholars in STS have applied
inter-disciplinary methodologies to their research to better integrate the
history of technology, science, and medicine into both broader historical
narratives, as well as complex current schools of analytical methods. Each
roundtable participant, a senior historian/socio-cultural theorist in the
field, will reflect on their own past methodologies as well as how theory
has been serving as frameworks for their current work. They will also
attempt to briefly comment on how the current situation in Eastern
Europe/Russia might imminently affect not only their access to primary
sources, but potentially their methodological frameworks as well. Each
participant will speak for about 12-15 minutes, then the moderator will
help guide and channel these overviews and meditations into a general
discussion about the role of theory in the history of science.

The meeting will be held on Thursday, December 1, at 16:00 (CET) /17:00
(Kyiv) / 18:00 (Moscow) / 10 аm (New York) / 7 am (Los Angeles).

Join Zoom Meeting

https://mit.zoom.us/j/93665011585?pwd=eExmZEFsamtGRm85WWVVRC9mMmJvQT09

Please feel free to share this announcement with your colleagues.
_______________________________________________
EASST's Eurograd mailing list
Eurograd (at) lists.easst.net
Unsubscribe or edit subscription options: http://lists.easst.net/listinfo.cgi/eurograd-easst.net

Meet us via https://twitter.com/STSeasst

Report abuses of this list to Eurograd-owner@lists.easst.net
            
view formatted text
Follow by Email